14.

 

 

* *  *

Gary Puckett and the Union Gap, “Young Girl”

* * *

“She knew I could tell with one glance, one look, one simple instant. It was her eyes. Despite the thick makeup, they were still dark-rimmed., haunted, and sad. Most of all though, they were familiar. The fact that we were in front of hundreds of strangers changed nothing at all. I’d spent a summer with those same eyes-scared, lost, confused-staring back at me. I would have known them anywhere.” – Sarah Dessen

* * *

Gary Puckett and the Union Gap “This Girl is a Woman Now”, 1969.

* * *

“I strongly believe that love is the answer and that it can mend even the deepest unseen wounds. Love can heal, love can console, love can strengthen, and yes, love can make change.” – Somaly Mam

* * *

Gary Puckett and the Union Gap “Woman, Woman”, 1968.

* * *

“I don’t need to be any place else, because the music takes me to the only place I want to be right now. To the place where I am and have always been wholly me, the only church I’ve ever belonged to, the only place I’ve ever prayed.” – Daisy Whitney

* * *

Gary Puckett and the Union Gap “Lady Willpower”, 1968.

* * *

“Children who are victimized through sexual abuse often begin to develop deeply held tenets that shape their sense of self: ‘My worth is my sexuality. I’m dirty and shameful. I have no right to my own physical boundaries.’ That shapes their ideas about the world around them: ‘No one will believe me. Telling the truth results in bad consequences. People can’t be trusted.’ It doesn’t take long for children to being to act in accordance with these belief systems.
For girls who have experienced incest, sexual abuse, or rape, the boundaries between love, sex, and pain become blurred. Secrets are normal, and shame is a constant.” – Rachel Lloyd

* * *

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

Leave a Reply

