End.

Aerial of Grand Canyon

Aerial of Grand Canyon

http://www.incredipedia.info/2009_12_01_archive.html

* * *

“I don’t like to think about my mother.  I have been beguiled by her charm, manipulated and lied to, disparaged and discounted more times than I care to enumerate.  The immediate flash of anger that occurs when she first enters my thoughts is quickly replaced by pain, a pain that gapes like a fathomless black hole.” – Patricia C McCairen, “Canyon Solitude:  A Woman’s Solo River Journey Through Grand Canyon”.

* * *

Inside GC Wayne Ranney

Inside GC Wayne Ranney

http://earthly-musings.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-10-day-rafting-trip-through-grand.html

* * *

“……Killing myself while waiting and hoping for her unattainable love and approval, all the time believing she had my best interest at heart, when nothing was further from the truth……If your mother doesn’t love you, then it’s difficult to believe anyone can love you.  That premise follows you into adulthood, influencing your choices from jobs to lovers.  When families wrap so-called love in lies, mixed messages and rigid controls, genuine caring is an alien concept.” – Patricia C McCairen, “Canyon Solitude:  A Woman’s Solo River Journey Through Grand Canyon”.

* * *

Inside Grand Canyon; Stantons Cave

Inside Grand Canyon; Stantons Cave

http://www.philipcoppens.com/egyptiancanyon.html

* * *

“Love still frightens me and dreams present me with agonizing truths, but little by little this river and canyon have allowed me to claim my life as my own, to begin moving past my father’s indifference and my mother’s jealousy and hate.  Understanding my relationship to it all is the only path to true freedom.” – Patricia C McCairen, “Canyon Solitude:  A Woman’s Solo River Journey Through Grand Canyon”.

** *

Leave a comment

Filed under American Southwest, Geology, Healing, Nature, Travel

Leave a Reply

